Complete Guide About Lactose Free Drinks.

Complete Guide About Lactose Free Drinks.

Do you know that 70% of the world’s population is lactose-intolerant?

What is a Lactose?

Lactose is a sugar molecule of milk, referred to as “milk sugar”. It is present in milk produced by cows, buffalo, sheep, and other mammals, including human breast milk.

Lactose is naturally present in all dairy products like milk, cheese, curd, yogurt, and other milk derivatives. Terms like whey, casein, milk solids, milk butter, and caseinate contain lactose in them.

What is Lactose-Intolerant?

To digest lactose, our body produces lactase enzymes in the small intestine. The complex sugar is broken down into simpler forms of sugar- ‘glucose’ and ‘galactose’ so that they can easily be absorbed into our bloodstream.

With age, our bodies cannot break down the lactose into sugar, which results in lactose intolerance. Some people get unpleasant symptoms such as gas, cramps, bloating, abdominal pain, and nausea as soon as they consume dairy products.

Lactose-free drinks are a better dairy alternative to help you with lactose intolerance.          

What are Lactose-free drinks?

Lactose-free drinks are dairy alternatives. They are dairy free, which means they don’t have any lactose in them-it is made for those who suffer from lactose intolerance. 

You can use lactose-intolerance milk alternatives similar to your cow’s milk in tea, coffee, smoothies, and more. Lactose-free drinks are just good as your regular cow’s milk.

Lactose-free drinks provide us with vitamin A, D, and B12, and the nutrients are well-balanced. All the vegan drinks available in the market are lactose and casein free, and we have an endless variety ranging from almonds to oats to soy and more.

How is a Lactose-free plant drink made?

Plant-based drinks are mostly made up of grains, nuts, legumes, and millet. There are various plant-based beverages available in the market like almonds, oats, soy, cashews, coconut, pecan, moongs, cowpeas, hazelnut, rice, and many more among others.

As they are made from plants, they don’t have any lactose and casein in them by default. Therefore, it is a preferable choice for people looking out for lactose-free alternative drinks that are vegan in nature.

Dairy alternatives are mostly made up of using plant, and water and is mostly fortified with essential vitamin-like D, B12, and minerals.

Hence, it is a suitable and healthy option for people who are suffering from milk allergies.

What are the health benefits of Lactose-free plant drinks? 

Plant-based drinks are lactose-free by nature as they are produced from plants, not from dairy.

These dairy alternatives are much healthier, and more sustainable than compared to regular dairy milk. As we know by now, that cow’s milk is injected with bovine growth hormone, which is a synthetic animal drug to increase production.

Cattle are fed with steroids that we end up consuming indirectly through dairy. Most people are intolerant to lactose or allergic to casein (protein in milk) which often goes unnoticed.

The most common symptoms are fatigue, irritable bowel syndrome, cramps, nausea, and abdominal pain and if not treated well may lead to PCOD, PCOS, and hormonal disorders.

Whereas, plant-based beverages are good dairy alternatives as they are free from any such injected hormones and are made from plants and water with added vitamins and minerals.

Alternative milk such as vegan milk which is plant-based by default is healthy because they have fiber and power-packed nutrients.

They have zero cholesterol and are low fat and low sugar as compared to dairy milk which is full of cholesterol and fat. Plant-based drinks are the most preferred choice for most people these days due to the health benefits they offer.

Back to Blog

Leave a comment

Please note, comments need to be approved before they are published.

Talk about your brand

Share information about your brand with your customers. Describe a product, make announcements, or welcome customers to your store.

Button label